Cisco three-layer hierarchical model

Cisco three-layer hierarchical model

Because networks and different multi-protocol technologies can be extremely complex, Cisco has developed a hierarchical hierarchical model for designing a reliable network infrastructure. This three-layer model lets you design, implement and maintain a scalable, reliable and cost-effective network. Each layer has its own features and functions that reduce the complexity of the network.

An example of the Cisco hierarchical model:

Cisco Three-Level Hierarchical Model

Here is a description of each layer:

Access - controls the access of users and workgroups to network resources. This layer typically includes Layer 2 switches and access points for post-to-server connections. You can manage access control and policy, create separate collision domains, and implement port security at that level.

Distribution - serves as a point of communication between the access layer and the kernel. Its main functions are to provide routing, filtering and WAN access and to determine how packets can access the database. This layer determines the fastest way to access network service requests - e.g. B. as file request is transmitted to a server - if necessary, and transmits the request to the core layer on. This layer typically includes routers and multilayer switches.
Basic - also called the backbone of the network, this layer is responsible for the rapid transport of large amounts of data. The core layer provides the interconnection between devices in the distribution layer that typically consists of high-speed devices such as high-end routers and switches with redundant connections.
Post a Comment (0)
Previous Post Next Post